top of page

Birthday Haul

Happy Birthday to me! I just turned 24, and I feel absolutely no different. What's another year, right? (I'm sure I will feel much different as I get a little closer to 30, but I think I have some time.) Anyway, birthdays are the best excuse to treat yourself after a stressful few weeks of training, learning, and making pizza. Now normally, I would prefer to spend the whole day at home relaxing. I thought I would break out of the constant bedroom-moping, and get out of the house to do something nice for myself.

My mom and I ended up waking up super early and heading straight to Burbank. After about an hour and a half drive (yikes!) we ended up in front of the Morphe store. I have been SO excited to make a trip up here. Of course, we were only able to spend about 20 minutes or so there, but 20 minutes in a store full of makeup and brushes when you have a fresh paycheck in your bank account is just the right amount of time to do some significant damage, let me tell you. So, here's what I ended up with:

Jeffree Star Cosmetics

Ever since I first saw Jeffree Star come out with highlighters, I've been eager to get my paws on them. I only picked up one (cheers to my very little self control) and that shade is Ice Cold. It is absolutely BLINDING. Surely I don't have to explain how stunning it is since it's been around for quite awhile now, but it is perfect. I plan on layering it over my Cover FX Custom Enhancer Drops in Celestial for maximum see-my-cheekbones-from-space glow. That's probably pretty extra, but we're talking Jeffree Star here; no amount of highlight is extra. I also only picked up one Liquid Lip, Posh Spice, which is a shade I have owned previously and completely used up, so it was time for a refill. It's definitely my go-to dead girl aesthetic lipstick.

Morphe Cosmetics:

Morphe brushes are some of my favorite brushes I have ever tried. Prior to this visit, I only owned 5 of them (M412, M411, M417, M332, M408) and ever since I purchased them online about a year or two ago, they're some of the only brushes I actually use. I definitely have a minor addiction to blending brushes, so I bought a few more. Well, 8 to be exact. I really have no self control, let's be honest, but I could have done MUCH worse. In the end, I walked out with 6 blending brushes (E27, M575, M511, M514, MB43, and another M332) as well as the M160 angled liner and an M442 shader. I can't wait to try them! I grabbed a couple of Morphe's individual eyeshadows in ES30 Flame and ES32 Sunflower since I've been looking for a new yellow and orange shadow to satisfy my rainbow eye needs. I don't see these on their website right now, but I'm pretty sure these were less than $3 a pop. Can't complain at that price point. Of course, I also finally got my hands on the coveted 35O Matte palette that I have been absolutely dying to try. I am so excited to get it on my face and do some swatches!

The visit to the Morphe store was great. All of the employees were super sweet and very helpful. It was a little intimidating seeing all of those security guards, but with all the hype surrounding the brand, it's totally understandable that they might need a little extra help. I lived up in Burbank for about 4 years while I was attending Woodbury University (about 3 or so miles from the Morphe store) and I can honestly say that if it had been open or I had known about it while I was there, they would have had most of my paychecks already. All in all, I am super pleased with what I came out with.

After my visit to Morphe, I headed straight back into LA for a hair appointment with my hair stylist, Ashley Flores, owner of Gold on Grand Salon in DTLA. I have been going to Ashley since I was very young and she was still going to the Paul Mitchell school, and she is probably one of the only people I trust enough to touch my hair. We finally put color back into my hair after about a year or so of not touching it other than for trims, and I am SO HAPPY with the way it came out. We went for my usual Black/Purple/Teal combo, and I feel complete again. I love the way the jewel tones shine in the sunlight. It's absolutely perfect. Check out Ashley here.

A few hours later, I was finally home, relaxing. I spent a little more money at the mall on things I actually DID need (new underwear and a new belt) and the rest of the day was fairly uneventful. I would call this birthday a success!

This post should be updated with photos and swatches in the morning, so keep an eye out!

Have a lovely night, all!

xo Kiana


bottom of page